YWCA Women of Distinction Awards: Nominees for 2013

Add a Comment by Rebecca Bollwitt

The YWCA Women of Distinction Award nominees have been announced and I am pleased to present the full list of outstanding women that have been recognized. This year is the 30th anniversary of the awards and the fourth year that I have been proud to partner as Social Media Sponsor:

YWCA women of distinction awards 2011

Nominees for 2013

Arts, Culture & Design

  • Penny Eder: Founder, White Dog Studio Gallery
  • Chan Hon Goh: Goh Ballet Academy/Goh Ballet’s The Nutcracker/Principal by Chan Hon Goh
  • Malene Grotrian: Designer & Owner, Malene Grotrian Design
  • Felicia Lo: Founder & Creative Director, SweetGeorgia Yarns Inc.

Business & the Professions

  • Nilusha Alibhai: Vice President, Scotiabank, North Coast & Fraser Valley
  • Tracey Arnish: Global Vice President, Talent Experience, SAP Canada
  • Maryse Belanger: Senior Vice President, Technical Services, Goldcorp Inc.
  • Ambrosia Humphrey: Vice President, Human Resources, HootSuite
  • Darlene Hyde: Executive Director, NAIOP Vancouver
  • Baila Lazarus: News Features Editor, Business in Vancouver & Managing Editor, Invest Northwest Newspaper Group
  • Fiona Macfarlane: BC Chief Inclusiveness Officer & Managing Partner, Ernst & Young LLP
  • Monique Mercier: Senior Vice President, Chief Legal Officer & Corporate Secretary, TELUS
  • Izumi Miki McGruer: Regional Development Manager, Freedom 55 Financial & Quadrus Investment Services
  • Nancy Morison: Vice President, Operations, Coastal Contacts Inc.
  • Lois Nahirney: Executive Vice President, Corporate Resources, Teekay Corporation
  • Tina Osen: President & CEO, HUB International Insurance Brokers
  • Bev Park: Former CFO & Former Acting CEO, TimberWest Forest Corp. & Strategic Advisor
  • Cynthia Ramsay: Publisher & Owner, Jewish Independent
  • Shauna Turner: Assistant Deputy Minister, Province of BC
  • Alexa Ulinder Baughen: Vice President, Investments and Communications, Anthem Properties

Community Building

  • Amy Chan: Blogger, amyfabulous.com
  • Kasondra Cohen: President, Face of Today
  • Kamal Dhillon: President, Black and Blue Sari
  • Amanda Gibbs: Principal, Public Assembly
  • Jo-Ann Turner: Former President, BC Bereavement Helpline

Education, Training & Development

  • Natacha Beim: Founder & CEO, CEFA Early Learning
  • Mary Boni: Associate Dean Pro Tem, The Chip and Shannon Wilson
  • School of Design, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Elizabeth Croft: Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, UBC
  • Claire Cupples: Dean of Science, SFU
  • Raminder Dosanjh, Retired Assistant Department Head, English Language Services for Adults (ELSA), Vancouver Community College
  • Shehni Dossa: Judge, Provincial Court of BC
  • Robin Hemmingsen: Dean, School of Business, BCIT
  • Lynn Jest: Director, Continuing Education, Capilano University
  • Cathy Kuzel: Founder & President, The Connected Woman
  • Jennifer Pearson Terell: BC TEAL
  • Laurie Sterritt: CEO, BC Aboriginal Mine Training Association
  • Mary Lynn Young: Associate Dean, Communications & Strategy, UBC


  • Karen Flavelle: CEO, Purdy’s Chocolatier
  • Allison Hegedus: President, Vida Wellness Spas
  • Barbara Mowat: President, Impact Communications Ltd. & GroYourBiz
  • Carol Newell: Founding Investor & Principal, Renewal Partners
  • Kim Pickett: Principal & Creative Director, KIMBO Design Inc.
  • Shahrzad Rafati: Founder & CEO, Broadband TV
  • Megan Sheldon: Principal, Narrative Communications Inc.
  • Shannon Susko: President, DST Subserveo & Former CEO & Co-Founder, Subserveo Inc.

Environmental Sustainability

  • Mae Burrows: Founder, Toxic Free Canada
  • Connie Linder: Founder & Principal, GreenPages Directory & Insight Creative Communications
  • Anne Murray: Vice President, Community & Environmental Affairs, Vancouver Airport Authority
  • Lyda Salatian: Founder & Program Director, The Lower Mainland Green Team (LMGT)

Health, Wellness & Athletics

  • Maureen de St. Croix: Founder & Head Coach, Ocean Athletics
  • Nikola Girke: Three-time Canadian Olympian
  • Cathleen Graham: Head Coach, Aquatics, Special Olympics Burnaby
  • Maureen McGrath: Registered Nurse & Host, The CKNW Sunday Night Sex Show
  • Kathy Newman: Retired, BC Wheelchair Sports Association
  • Wendy Pattenden: CEO, Canadian Sport Institute Pacific
  • Cathy Priestner Allinger: Chair, viaSport
  • Johanna Ward: Host, go! Vancouver
  • Laura Watson: Sport Development Lead, viaSport

Non-Profit & Public Service

  • Debbie Butt: Director, Marketing & Communications, Canuck Place Children’s Hospice
  • Jill Calder: Executive Director, New View Society
  • Jill Earthy: Regional Director, BC & Yukon, Canadian Youth Business Foundation
  • Anita Huberman: CEO, Surrey Board of Trade
  • Tracy Porteous: Executive Director, Ending Violence Association of BC
  • Linda Reid: Deputy Speaker of the House, British Columbia Legislature
  • Wendy Slavin: CEO, Canadian Breast Cancer Foundation: BC/Yukon Region
  • Cheryl Treliving: Executive Director, Boston Pizza Foundation
  • Irene Tsepnopoulos-Elhaimer: Executive Director, Women Against Violence Against Women Rape Crisis Centre
  • Dianne Watts: Mayor, City of Surrey
  • Jessi Zielke: Director, Strategic Initiatives, Industry Training Authority (ITA)

Technology, Science & Research

  • Catherine Aczel Boivie: CEO & Chair, CanWIT Division of CATAAlliance
  • B. Lynn Beattie: UBC Division of Geriatric Medicine
  • Sheina Macadam: Plastic and Resconstructive Surgeon
  • Deborah Money: Vice President, Research, BC Women’s Hospital & Health Centre
  • Cherly Slusarchuk: Partner, Blakes Cassels and Graydon

Young Woman of Distinction

  • Shauna Beaudoin: Founder, Connekt Marketing & Co-Founder, Team Awesome & Get Warm Project
  • Sara Eftekhar: Youth Activist
  • Navi Gill -Co-Founder, Global Girl Power
  • Parys Liu: Founder, K.A.R.E. Power
  • Chanel Ly: Board Member, Sustainable SFU
  • Ceilidh Millar: Founder, End Bullying Through Peer Advocacy
  • Brittany Palmer: Founder & Owner, Unlock your Future: The Key to Scholarships

Innovative Workplace

  • Pacific Blue Cross
  • Vancouver City Savings (Vancity)

YWCA women of distinction awards 2011

About the YWCA Women of Distinction Awards

The YWCA Women of Distinction Awards is recognized nationally as one of Canada’s most prestigious awards for women. YWCA Metro Vancouver’s 30th annual YWCA Women of Distinction Awards honours women whose achievements contribute to the well-being and future of our community. The Awards also honours the businesses and organizations that support the wellness and diverse needs of their employees. The Awards recognize outstanding women and workplaces and, since 1984, has honoured 247 award recipients and more than 1,450 nominees. In addition to recognizing the nominees, this event highlights and raises funds for that help improve the lives of thousands of people across Metro Vancouver each year.


Tickets are going quickly for the annual awards gala reception and dinner at the Westin Bayshore on Tuesday, May 28, 2013 so be sure to book your table for this inspiring and celebratory event as soon as possible.

Comments are closed on this post
Also on Miss604.com