Jessie Awards 2012: Nominations

Add a Comment by Rebecca Bollwitt

The nominations are in for the 30th Annual Jessie Richardson Theatre Awards which will take place on Monday, June 25, 2012 at the Commodore Ballroom. More than 120 individuals nominated performers and theatre companies in 25 different categories who all represent outstanding theatre in Vancouver.

2011 Jessie Richardson Awards

Leading the pack of nominations is The Arts Club Theatre Company with 17 nominations, with 9 of those for The Penelopiad. Neworld Theatre (in association with Vancouver Moving Theatre) received 7 nominations for The Idiot, and in the ‘Small Theatre’ category, The Electric Company (in association with the Vancouver Playhouse Theatre Company) received 8 nominations for All the Way Home. For ‘Theatre for Young People’, Carousel Theatre has racked up 11 nominations for productions like The Wizard of Oz and Aesop’s Fables.

Here are a few more of the nominations:

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role – Large Theatre
Greg Armstrong-Morris in La Cage aux Folles, Vancouver Playhouse Theatre Company
Bob Frazer in Richard III, Bard on the Beach
Warren Kimmel in Next to Normal, Arts Club Theatre Company
Kevin MacDonald in The Idiot, Neworld Theatre (with Vancouver Moving Theatre)
Derek Metz in Snowman, Rumble Productions

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Lead Role – Large Theatre
Kathleen Duborg in Snowman, Rumble Productions
Marci T. House in Intimate Apparel, Arts Club Theatre Company
Terra C. MacLeod in Blood Brothers, Arts Club Theatre Company
Caitriona Murphy in Next to Normal, Arts Club Theatre Company
Meg Roe in The Penelopiad, Arts Club Theatre Company

Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role – Small Theatre
Thomas Jones in Woody Sed, Two Dollar Shoes Equity Co-op
Aleks Paunovic in Danny and the Deep Blue Sea, Annunciation Pictures
Andrew Wheeler in Re:Union, Pacific Theatre / Horseshoes & Hand Grenades Theatre
Andrew Wheeler in Gordon, Arts Club Theatre Company
Jonathon Young in All the Way Home, Electric Company Theatre

Outstanding Performance by an Actress in a Lead Role – Small Theatre
Anna Cummer in Hedda Gabbler, Osimous Theatre
Nicola Elbro in Mary’s Wedding, Gateway Theatre
Meg Roe in All the Way Home, Electric Company Theatre
Gabrielle Rose in Scar Tissue, Arts Club Theatre Company
Deborah Williams in After Jerusalem, Solo Collective Theatre

A full list of nominees is currently available on the Jessies website. I’ve had the pleasure of sponsoring the Jessies for the last few years by way of a live blog on the night of the event. It’s one of the most entertaining awards ceremonies I’ve seen and it’s a great celebration of local theatre.

Jessie Awards 2011 Highlights:
Outstanding Production, Large Theatre
Recipient: The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee, Arts Club Theatre Company (co-production with the Belfry Theatre) “This really says something about co-productions,” says Bill Millerd. “We have to work together with all the cutbacks and budget restrictions… …This is acknowledging how great theatre is in British Columbia.”

Career Achievement Award Recipient: Bernard Cuffling (presented by The Arts Club’s Bill Millerd). “We in Vancouver are unique, and we are part of this incredible family that I will never, ever leave. I thank you so much for this and in particular it would be remiss of me not to thank a man that doesn’t say very much, but who champions me all the time… …it is Bill Millerd that I owe so much to.”

Outstanding Production, Small Theatre
Recipient: Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train, Glass City Theatre “Thank you to all the playwrights in this room… …If you have the ability to write, please write, so that the rest of us can tell stories that really matter.”

Tickets are now available for $28.75 plus service charges through Ticketmaster (online or by phone 1-855-985-5000). The ceremony will be produced and directed by Vancouver TheatreSports.

Current Contests on Miss604
*All contests are open to residents of Canada only, unless otherwise stated. Contest timelines are published on each individual post along with entry methods. Some contests may only be open to those 19 years of age and older. Winners are announced on the contest blog posts. Contest policy »
Comments are closed on this post
Also on