BC Achievement Foundation Community Award Recipients

Add a Comment by Rebecca Bollwitt

The recipients of the 20th annual BC Achievement Foundation Community Awards were honoured at a special event on May 10th. The program, presented by BC Achievement – an independent foundation that honours excellence and inspires achievement throughout the province – recognizes extraordinary British Columbians who build better, stronger and more resilient communities.

BCAF Community Award Recipients 2023
BCAF Community Award Recipients 2023

BC Achievement Foundation Community Award Recipients

“This year’s Community Award recipients demonstrate exceptional commitment to making their communities – and our province – healthier, happier and more hopeful,” said Premier David Eby. “From ambitious students to established entrepreneurs, the honourees show us how everyone can have a hand in building a stronger BC. Their stories are sure to inspire British Columbians across the province.”

“We are privileged to showcase and celebrate the contributions of these outstanding recipients who shine as examples of leadership, dedication and selflessness,” said Walter Pela, Chair of the BC Achievement Foundation. “Communities are shaped and strengthened by people who willingly share their talents, passion and time in the service of others,” he added.

The Community Award recipients are selected by an independent jury panel, whose 2023 members include Mayor Sarrah Storey of Fraser Lake, Mayor Maja Tait of Sooke, and past recipients Kal Dosanjh of Surrey, Julie Fowler of Penticton, and Sqwulutsultun William Yoachim of Nanaimo. This year’s recipients include:

  • Connie Cocchia, West Vancouver 
  • Dr. Amy Gilchrist, Victoria
  • Jack Gin, Burnaby
  • James Harry Sr., Burnaby
  • Kat Hartwig, Brisco
  • Simon Daniel James, Bowen Island
  • David Lemon, Delta
  • Meeka Morgan, Ashcroft
  • Gerry Nellestijn, Salmo
  • Kim North, Lillooet
  • Don Philip Peters, North Vancouver
  • Stephanie Quon, Vancouver
  • Esther Rausenberg, Vancouver
  • Sahara Shaik, Vancouver
  • Jessie Sutherland, Richmond
  • Upkar Singh Tatlay, Surrey
  • Gary Thandi, Surrey
  • Kiranjot Kaur Toor, Surrey
  • Spencer van Vloten, Vancouver
  • Kihlyahda Christian White & Candace Weir-White, Masset
BCAF Community Award 2023

The Mitchell Award designate of the Community Award is selected by the BC Achievement Foundation Board in consultation with the program’s community. The award recognizes an individual who, through their work and/or volunteer activities, demonstrates an unwavering commitment to elevating people around them. This year’s Mitchell Award of Distinction recipient is Kat Hartwig of Brisco, a champion of environmental conservation, whose selfless leadership style empowers others to lead and excel. 

Each awardee received a certificate and medallion designed by Robert Davidson, OC, OBC. They are also celebrated through an online campaign #ShineTheLightBC to commemorate their excellence and inspirational achievements positively impacting British Columbians. 

For more information about the BC Achievement Foundation or Community Award program follow on Facebook or visit the website here.

Nominations for the 2024 awards will be open starting December 1, 2023.

Current Contests on Miss604
*All contests are open to residents of Canada only, unless otherwise stated. Contest timelines are published on each individual post along with entry methods. Some contests may only be open to those 19 years of age and older. Winners are announced on the contest blog posts. Contest policy »
Comments are closed on this post
Also on Miss604.com