Surrey Stop Bullying Film Contest 2013

Add a Comment by Rebecca Bollwitt

The second annual Stop Bullying Film Contest in Surrey is underway as students from grades 6 to 12 are invited to submit a 30 or 60 second film that identifies types of bullying, the impact that bullying has on people, and solutions to the problem.

Surrey Stop Bullying Film Contest

The judging panel was recently announced and it includes Mayor Dianne Watts, Surrey RCMP Chief Superintendent Bill Fordy, Holly Conway, Jonny Staub, Nira Arora and Amy Beeman (Beat 94.5 morning show), Elise Estrada (award-winning popstar/actress) and Johanna Ward (host of Shaw TV’s go! Vancouver). The panel will select the top three films in each category: Junior (Grades 6 and 7), Intermediate (Grades 8, 9 and 10) and Senior (Grades 11 and 12).

Youth are encouraged to find actors, write scripts, improvise, and make their short film at 720HD or above. Per YouTube’s rules, copyrighted music cannot be used in the film. The three winning videos from last year are posted for inspiration.

Submission deadline is February 8, 2013 and the winning film in each category will be announced on Pink Shirt Day on February 27, 2013.

The contest is a partnership between the City of Surrey, Surrey RCMP, CUPE 402, and the Surrey School District. For more information, please visit the Stop Bullying Film Contest online and follow Surrey Youth Services on Twitter and Facebook.

Current Contests on Miss604
*All contests are open to residents of Canada only, unless otherwise stated. Contest timelines are published on each individual post along with entry methods. Some contests may only be open to those 19 years of age and older. Winners are announced on the contest blog posts. Contest policy »
Comments are closed on this post
Also on