NHL Awards 2011

Add a Comment by Rebecca Bollwitt

Hockey’s most outstanding players from the 2010-2011 season will be honored and recognized at the 2011 NHL Awards Wednesday, June 22nd.

NHL AwardsLive coverage will begin at 7:00pm Eastern / 4:00pm Pacific and I’ll be covering the awards (red carpet and all) live from the Palms in Las Vegas. Updates will be made to this post if possible throughout the evening.

Here are this year’s nominees including six of our Canucks (updated throughout the event):

James Norris Memorial Trophy
The James Norris Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position. (presented by Kevin Smith & Cobie Smulders)
Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings* recipient
Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

Bridgestone Messier Leadership Award
The Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone has been awarded since 2006-07 and is awarded “to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice during the regular season.”
Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins *recipient
Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes
Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings

Art Ross Trophy
Presented to Daniel Sedin by Jay Mohr

Daniel Sedin
Daniel Sedin

Frank J. Selke Trophy
The Frank J. Selke Trophy is an annual award given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association at the end of the regular season.
(presented by Criss Angel)
Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings
Ryan Kesler, Vancouver Canucks* recipient
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks

Ryan Kesler
Ryan Kesler being interviewed after winning the Selke

Jack Adams Award
The Jack Adams Award is an annual award presented by the National Hockey League Broadcasters’ Association to the NHL coach judged to have contributed the most to his team’s success. (presented by Donny Osmond)
Dan Bylsma, Pittsburgh Penguins *recipient
Barry Trotz, Nashville Predators
Alain Vigneault, Vancouver Canucks

Calder Memorial Trophy
The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League. (presented by George Stroumboulopoulos & Jeremy
Logan Couture, San Jose Sharks
Michael Grabner, New York Islanders
Jeff Skinner, Carolina Hurricanes *recipient

Jeff Skinner, Rookie of the Year
Rookie of the Year Jeff Skinner (left) with his family.

William M. Jennings Trophy
Presented to Cory Schneider & Roberto Luongo* recipients by Jay Mohr

Roberto Luongo

NHL General Manager of the Year Award (presented by Craig Patrick)
Mike Gillis, Vancouver Canucks* recipient
David Poile, Nashville Predators
Steve Yzerman, Tampa Bay Lightning

Maurice ‘Rocket’ Richard Trophy
Presented to Corey Perry by Jay Mohr

Corey Perry
Corey Perry

Ted Lindsay Award (formerly Lester B. Pearson Award)
The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually to the “most outstanding player” in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association.
Corey Perry, Anaheim Ducks
Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks* recipient
Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy
The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is an annual award under the trusteeship of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association and is given to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season. (presented by Luc Robitaille & David Henrie)
Ray Emery, Anaheim Ducks
Daymond Langkow, Calgary Flames
Ian Laperriere, Philadelphia Flyers* recipient

Ian Laperrierre
Ian Laperrierre with his boys

King Clancy Memorial Trophy
Presented to Doug Weight by Jerry Bruckheimer

Doug Weight
Doug Weight

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. (presented by Camille Grammer & Adrienne Maloof)
Loui Eriksson, Dallas Stars
Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
Martin St Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning* recipient

Martin St Louis & Steven Stamkos
Martin St Louis (left) and Steven Stamkos (right)

NHL Foundation Award
The NHL Foundation Player Award is awarded annually to the National Hockey League (NHL) player “who applies the core values of (ice) hockey—commitment, perseverance and teamwork—to enrich the lives of people in his community”. (presented by Michelle Beisner & Commissioner Gary Bettman)
Dustin Brown, LA Kings* recipient
Mike Green, Washington Capitals
Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

Vezina Trophy
The Vezina Trophy is an annual award given to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at this position as voted by the general managers of all NHL clubs. (presented by Jon Hamm)
Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks
Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators
Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins* recipient

Tim Thomas and Dierks Bentley
Tim Thomas (left) and country singer Dierks Bentley (right)

Tim Thomas
Thomas with his hardware

Hart Memorial Trophy
The Hart Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team. (presented by Jennifer Beals & Jason Reitman)
Corey Perry, Anaheim Ducks* recipient
Daniel Sedin, Vancouver Canucks
Martin St Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning

Update 3:00pm Red carpet photos as celebrity presenters and NHL stars arrive.

Far East Movement
Far East Movement

Shae Weber
Shae Weber

Donny Osmond Criss Angel
Donny Osmond (left) and Criss Angel (right)

Update 4:00pm Host Jay Mohr (just a few minutes in) say “We got to talk about the elephant in the room.” He says in his monologue, regarding the riot, that it was very “un-Canadian” and “Vancouver is the marijuana capital of the world,” he wouldn’t have expected that from such a mellow city. The jokes fly and they lovingly poke fun at Vancouver although Mohr said to punish those arrested at the riots they should be sent to watch New York Islanders games. Thomas old jokes, Edmonton jokes, Boston fan ribbin, and Recchi jokes follow, all receiving light-hearted laughs from the crowd.

Update 4:30pm Check the list above for my updates on award winners. Nominees are all listed and the winners names will be in bold.

Update 5:00pm The cover of EA Sports 2012 has been revealed and it will feature Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning.

Update 5:47pm After Far East Movement performed their single “OMG” Jon Hamm came out to present the Vezina Trophy and said, “O-M-G, I’m O-L-D.” The presenters have been entertaining all evening, from jokes and banter to the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills awarding Martin St Lewis the Lady Byng.

Update 5:55pm The awards are wrapping up and it’s on to the reception. I have piles of photos and audio to pour through so this post will continue to be updated over the next 24 hours. Congratulations to all of the award winners tonight and to all of the nominees on their outstanding performance this past season.

Current Contests on Miss604
*All contests are open to residents of Canada only, unless otherwise stated. Contest timelines are published on each individual post along with entry methods. Some contests may only be open to those 19 years of age and older. Winners are announced on the contest blog posts. Contest policy »
Comments are closed on this post
Also on Miss604.com