BC Government to Declare Days in Honor of Olympians, Paralympians

Comments 1 by Rebecca Bollwitt

It was announced yesterday (and I found out thanks to the Canadian Paralympic Committee’s Twitter account) that the Government of BC will proclaim days throughout 2011 in honor of BC Olympic and Paralympic medallists.

Maelle Ricker
Maëlle Ricker. Photo credit: John Biehler on Flickr

“Athletes will be recognized on the one-year anniversary of their medal-winning performance. Athletes who won multiple medals will receive a day proclaimed in their honour on the one-year anniversary of their first medal victory and acknowledgement of their additional medal victories.” [PDF]

Proclamations Days in 2011 include:
Feb 16 Maëlle Ricker Day
Feb 23 Ashleigh McIvor Day
Feb 27 Chris Le Bihan and Denny Morrison Day
Feb 28 Duncan Keith, Scott Niedermayer, Brent Seabrook, Roberto Luongo, Shea Weber Day
Mar 13 Josh Dueck and Lindsay Debou Day
Mar 15 Lauren Woolstencroft and Karolina Wisniewska Day
Mar 20 Ina Forrest, Jim Armstrong, Sonja Gaudet and Darryl Neighbour Day
Mar 21 Olympic and Paralympic Blue Jacket Volunteers Day

As a reminder, you can still vote for the Sport BC Athlete of the Year Awards “Best of BC” nominees, some of which are listed above, until February 20th. The winner will be awarded at the Sport BC banquet February 24, 2011.

1 Comment  —  Comments Are Closed

  1. Jim DugganFriday, February 18th, 2011 — 9:07am PST

    I hope that our Province would also honour the job the police, first responders and security did during the games. I thought the police especially performed extremely well.

Also on Miss604.com